My Mahler – Lucy Arch

Lucy, 16 from Shrewsbury, is a cellist with the National Youth Orchestra:

“I was introduced to Mahler Symphony No.8 around two and a half years ago and itinspired me to listen to all his symphonies. Mahler’s use of chromaticism and rich, romantic harmonies makes for truly rewarding and thrilling listening. The performance of Mahler 8 at the First Night of the Proms this year surely has to go down in history as one of the best performances of the work ever. Although Mahler himself never coined the title ‘Symphony of a Thousand’, it is certainly very fitting and the power felt at the vocal entry is enough to give anyone goosebumps – whether they are a classical lover or not. Every Mahler work I discover changes my life in some way – teaching me about music and myself.”

About mymahler

Over 2010/11, the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra and the Birmingham International Concert Season are presenting Birmingham's first ever Mahler cycle, marking the 100th anniversary of Mahler's death and 150 years since his birth. The Birmingham Mahler Cycle features great orchestras and great conductors - and of course, some of the most incredible music ever written.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment